Reviewing Diamond Clarity

Whilst diamonds appear sparkling and lovely to the naked eye, they also are graded according to the colour, cut, carat weight, and clarity. Clarity measures a diamond’s imperfections. These imperfections are represented by inclusions and blemishes.

Types of Inclusions

The following list features the types of inclusions or imperfections that are enclosed within a polished diamond or that extend into the gem from the surface area.

  • A feather or gletz is defined as a fracture in a diamond.
  • Internal graining is denoted by faint lines, curves, or angles, all of which originate from crystal growth.
  • A twinning wisp features a number of pinpoints, crystals, or clusters that develop in the growth plane of a twinned diamond.
  • A needle is a slim and long crystal.
  • A crystal is another mineral crystal encased in the diamond. According to London jewellers, crystals of this type can include other minerals or diamonds.
  • A cavity is a void that is seen when a surface-reaching crystal emerges during the polishing.
  • A knot is an included crystal that reaches out to the surface after the gem is polished.
  • An indented natural is an original surface crystal that is immersed beneath the polished surface of a diamond.
  • A bearded girdle is depicted by very small feathers that extend from the surface and into the stone.

Types of Blemishes

Blemishes, which are seen externally, originate from use and wear, crystal structure, or the cutting process. They include nicks, abrasions, and scratches. They are also represented by pits, which resemble small dots, or a natural, which is a part of the original skin that is left on a diamond.

Leave a Reply